You’ve always wanted to be a model or movie star, right? Now’s your chance! Starting November 11, 2013, Google will start using your photo in advertisements that appear on Google+. You’ll be famous!
You find a great product or service and review it on Google+. That company decides to start advertising on Google. When the company’s ads run, your friends will see a version of the ad that includes your Google+ profile photo and your review of their product or service. Here’s an example of what the ad may look like.
While this may seem a bit like an invasion of privacy, Google assures us you are in control of your content and images. According to Google, “Your content is only shared when you choose, and shared endorsements don’t impact who can see your content or activity.” The concept of shared endorsements is intended to “help your friends and others find cool stuff online.”
You can control what information is shared through Google’s new shared endorsement policy. According to Google, “you can choose whether your name and photo may be used to help your friends find stuff you love (and avoid stuff you don’t).” You should be aware that any activity including reviews, follows, shares and +1s can be used by Google along with your name and photo for commercial and other promotional activities if you participate in this program. If you choose to participate in this program, the name and photo visible in advertisements will be the “public profile name and photo you have chosen on Google+.”
To learn more and to opt out of the Google shared endorsement program, simply visit this page and uncheck the box.